Facts about Cyprus

Area: 9,251 sq km
Capital: Nicosia
Language: Greek, Turkish
Currency: Euro
  Turkish Lira
Population: 784,301
Coastline: 648 sq km

Home > General Info > Government

Cyprus Government

As of 1974 there are two separate governments on the Island of Cyprus. In the South the government is known as the Government of the Republic of Cyprus. The Government in the North is known as the Government of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Both governments have similar systems in place for the three separate powers of the government.

Republic of Cyprus Government

The three separate powers of the South Cyprus are as follows:

  • The South Cyprus Executive Branch houses the President and the Vice-president.
  • The Legislative Branch is known as the House of Representatives and is composed of 80 members.
  • Then there is the Judiciary Branch that is composed of various lower courts that fall under the Supreme Court and its 13 members.

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus Government

Cyprus is very similarly although the Executive does not have a Vice-president.

  • The Northern Cyprus Executive Branch is composed of a President and Prime Minister appointed by the President.
  • In North Cyprus the Legislative Branch is known as the Assembly and is comprised of 50 members.
  • The Judiciary Branch also encapsulates various courts with the Supreme Court being the highest court in Northern Cyprus. Its members number 7.
Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer |