Facts about Cyprus

Area: 9,251 sq km
Capital: Nicosia
Language: Greek, Turkish
Currency: Euro
  Turkish Lira
Population: 784,301
Coastline: 648 sq km

Home > Government and Politics > Government > Municipalities


Nicosia (North) Municipalities

The Nicosia Municipality was established on June 16, 1958 during the British rule. In the beginning, it was called “Temporary Nicosia Municipality Council” or “Nicosia Turkish Municipality Committee.”

Nicosia (South) Municipalities

The Union of Cyprus Municipalities was founded in 1981 and is the only collective organization of representation and co ordination of the Municipalities of Cyprus.

Kyrenia Municipalities

Kyrenia is a beautiful historical town with a stunning harbor and many historical sites. Municipalities in the Kyrenia area include Alsancak, Catalkoy, Esentepe and Lapta.

Famagusta Municipalities

There are many municipalities in the Famagusta area including the party town of Agia Napa. Telephone numbers of all municipalities are provided.

Guzelyurt Municipalities

In Guzelyurt there are the famous historical sites, such as Soli and Vouni. Other municipalities in the Guzelyurt area are Morphou and Lefke.

Limassol Municipalities

Limassol is the second biggest town of Cyprus and its biggest Municipality. It has experienced great development after the Turkish invasion in 1974, becoming the biggest port in the Mediterranean transit trade.

Larnaca Municipalities

There are 5 municipalities in the Larnaca district. A list of Mayors and Contact information is provided.

Paphos Municipalities

There are four municipalities in Paphos district: Paphos, Geroskipou, Pegeia and Polis.

Ministries & Branches

Embassies & Representatives of Cyprus Abroad

Cyprus Municipalities

Tourism Information Offices

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer |