Facts about Cyprus

Area: 9,251 sq km
Capital: Nicosia
Language: Greek, Turkish
Currency: Euro
  Turkish Lira
Population: 784,301
Coastline: 648 sq km

Home > Government and Politics > Government

Cyprus Government

Ministries & Branches

The 1960 Cypriot constitution provided for a presidential system of government with independent executive, legislative and judicial branches. There are many ministries that have been formed, all responsible for their individual sector.

Embassies & Representatives

A list of embassies and representatives of Cyprus abroad.


The Union of Cyprus Municipalities was established in 1981. Even though membership is voluntary, at present all municipalities (33), accounting for 65 per cent of the population of Cyprus, are represented. The Union's main functions are to contribute to the development of local government autonomy, as well as to act as spokesman of local government interests and the central government and other national institutions. It also takes an active stand in the evolving relations of Cyprus with the European Union.

Tourism Information Offices

You will find tourism information offices in nearly all the main cities. They offer the most comprehensive information on Cyprus; including an overview of the island, its people, history, culture, things to do and much more. These information offices are equipped with very competent personnel that are ready to help you to plan your visit in the best possible way. The various information publications and leaflets available in their offices contain a variety of useful information about tourist infrastructure, transport, cost of living, accommodation etc.

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer |